Future Prospects

In the last few minutes of the prelude music before Sacrament meeting on Sunday, the following conversation occurred:

Tim: (gazing meditatively on the A4 piece of paper he has just folded and crushed into a tiny cylinder) How many of these do you think I could get in my mouth?

Me: Open up, and I’ll estimate.

(He does so. I move the piece of paper around, trying to imagine.)

Me: About…eight I should think.

Tim: Yes, that’s what I thought. Do you think I could set a Guinness World Record?

Me: I dunno, you’ll have to look it up. Probably.

Tim: It’s too stupid for anyone else to have tried.

Me: Wait till the spinning drill fool gets hold of that idea – you’d best do it quick.

(Tim, slightly concerned, opens the piece of paper and refolds it even tighter.)

Tim: Ok. (Holds up smaller wedge of paper.) How about now?

Well, we’ll both hit our quarter-centuries next year, and fame and significance eludes us both. You have to take what you can get: Tim could become ‘Paper in Mouth Man’, a snowballing internet phenomenon, and I’d ride his coattails to glory and riches. It’s about the best plan I’ve come up with this week.

One thought on “Future Prospects

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

