Post-Holiday Cheer

Happy new year!

That’s not strictly accurate, as it happens, though I certainly hope you have a happy year yourself. Thus far, 2010 has been blighted by misfortune. We left Mobile, and it was probably the only time I’ve ever felt reluctant to go home after a holiday. I cried all the way to Gate 5, and was a good way over the Atlantic before I stopped wanting to. After a while, it became obvious that BA weren’t going to turn the plane around for me, and, well, the climate was no good for my hair anyway, so I became resigned to going home and started to focus on the positives (nice comfortable house, fondness for little rubbish car, power shower, shepherd’s pie, etc).

Unfortunately home wasn’t quite as welcoming as it could have been, as it was too busy doing some serious flooding from a burst pipe upstairs. So we spent our intended nap time moving furniture, taking up carpets, calling our insurance company and cultivating frostbite on our feet, and it wasn’t nearly as good as a nap, I can tell you. Oh, and my inadequate ear tubes underperformed again during the aeroplane’s descent, meaning I was staggering around imitating Quasimodo on moving day, with one deaf ear and half a seized-up face. Is it possible to have more fun, I wonder?

Despite all this unexpected drama, I’m determined to have a cheerful kind of January. The plus side of our house being frozen solid is that a) we’ll be spending a lot more time in bed till it’s fixed, and b) it’s so beautifully warm in the office that I was wholeheartedly glad to be back at work. Optimism helps us see God’s loving hand in the details of our lives, so said someone-or-other, and one of my new year’s resolutions is to spend more time noticing. Obviously I’ll have no problem being optimistic on shepherd’s pie days, but on salad days I may have to work a little harder.

I’m twenty-five in just over two months. It’s the sort of anniversary that leads naturally to wishing you’ve accomplished more, but I’m going to try and use it as a prompt to actually accomplish more instead. I’m not sure yet what that will entail exactly, but staying optimistic on salad days will be a very good start.  

C'mon, smile! SMILE!

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

