Gluttony (33 Weeks)

What a day of terrible food decisions this has turned out to be.

I had the mother of all food wobblies on the way into work this morning. I had a check-up first thing, which was uneventful – I thought it was pretty rude of TJ to stick out his/her bottom for the doctor’s inspection, but at least it was a bottom of normal size and weight – so drove in later than usual. Still, when the twitchiness started somewhere around Pangbourne, I ignored it. I don’t usually want to gnaw off my own arm by 9.30am. I decided I must just be irritated at the number of Jaguar drivers pottering along at 22mph (for which heinous crime, I believe, only flogging will suffice. No one, apparently, is in a hurry to get anywhere at 9.30).

By Streatley, I was definitely, recognisably hungry – no Jaguars in sight – and tore into my cereal bar at the traffic lights. Ten minutes later, crossing the Oxfordshire border, I ate half my sandwich. The shakes got worse. I ate the other half. By Blewbury I was sweating. As I slowed down for Upton I was forcing my legs to move between accelerator and brake.  At the Harwell roundabout, I couldn’t remember driving through Blewbury.

Rubbish, I thought. Is this a delayed reaction to the Zumba class I thundered through last night? Or is the half a mouldy cupcake I accidentally consumed yesterday making a reappearance? More pressingly, is this the type of emergency occasion that would justify calling into McDonalds?

I decided against McDonalds, as I’d need to spend money on lunch now I’d ravaged my lunchbox. Instead I staggered into the newsagents opposite the office, to see what I could buy for 42p.

Public Service Announcement: You can buy precisely nothing in a newsagents for 42p. Not even Chewitts. For future reference, you need at least 50p for an adequate emergency stash.

USELESS.

Second Public Service Announcement: Asking a calorie-deprived pregnant woman whether you can have your football back (har har) is not a good idea under any circumstances. Particularly if you’re balancing on a unicycle at the time. I only just prevented myself from sticking my foot in his wheel spokes.

[Why was there a man in a unicycle outside the newsagents? Did I hallucinate this?]

At lunchtime, I got myself a jacket potato, which came out looking like this:

And wouldn’t you have guessed, a big cheesy meatbally mess was not really calculated to make me feel better. I ate most of it out of necessity, and never found out whether there was actually a potato in there.

After this I gave up on proper eating for the day, and had honey nut cornflakes for dinner. Which made quite a lot of things better, though now, of course, I’m hungry again.

In my fondest dreams, I just eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, and leave it at that. And the occasional biscuit. (The biscuits are Cadbury’s oat chocolate chip, because my fondest dreams are very precise.)

One thought on “Gluttony (33 Weeks)

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

