An Offer You Can’t Refuse (34 Weeks)

Braxton Hicks!

For when you absolutely, positively can’t live without carrying a cannonball in your abdomen.

 

(This is such a hilariously overdone picture of dejection that I really must have been going for sympathy – or not getting it.)

I’ve been having the ole BHs for weeks and weeks, but only yesterday realised what they were: before that, I just assumed TJ was assuming the brace position, for reasons of his own devising. Then I remembered that, talented contortionist he may be, but giant gobstopper he ain’t.  

I wonder how it feels for him, being encased in a steel roll cage twelve times a day? Probably like being one of those lycra-clad sweaty contestants on Gladiators. You know the ones.

Gladiators: READY.

I don’t know why people talk about not being able to tell the difference between fake contractions and the real thing. I don’t yet know from personal experience, but I’m fairly sure real contractions feel (at best) like the most hideous time-of-the-month pain you’ve ever had, instead of a muscle-achey but relatively painless uterus-turning-into-a-boulder sensation. Though heaven help you if you’ve got a full bladder when it happens. This doesn’t end well.

Here’s what, Braxton Hicks aside, Babycentre.co.uk would like me to be aware of in week 34:

  • Apparently I have a month left before D-Day*. I’m not sure how ‘at least six weeks’ equates to one month; maybe they’re using a Mayan calendar.
  • Do I really need to buy a changing table? Babycentre isn’t convinced. I wonder where they stand on borrowing a changing table, since that’s what we’re doing.
  • Is my daily commute a strain? Yes. Hence the impending maternity leave. Next question.

And the most unexpected on my to-do list:

  • Would I like to consider storing my baby’s umbilical cord?

Would I what was that again? I thought this was another one of those sick eating-your-placenta rituals – perhaps you’d present your child’s shrivelled-up rope of life to them on their 18th birthday? Touching – but it turns out you can put it aside for the kind of rainy day where you could use some stem cells. I think I’ll pass, Babycentre, but thanks all the same.

*Using a military operation term for my labour is perhaps appropriate in some ways, but a little more combative than I’d like. Alternatives to consider: E-Day (Emergence Day); BC-Day (Birth Canal Day); NMVV-Day (No More Varicose Vein Day). I’ll give it some thought.

3 thoughts on “An Offer You Can’t Refuse (34 Weeks)

  1. Sam says:

    Don’t bother with a baby changing table, you just change them wherever you are at the time! couldn’t be bothered with all that running up and down stairs every time!

    Like

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

