Happiness is…

…getting to your final day of work, at long, long, long, long, LONG freaking last.

I know some really lovely people. TJ got some gorgeous little things, and, lest I felt left out, I got a bag full of my favourite foods (in case you are wondering, this included a jar of Nutella, a chicken and mushroom pot noodle, a packet of Cadbury’s oat chocolate chip biscuits, and some McCoy’s steak-flavoured crisps. I have been an eclectic and enthusiastic office eater, it seems).

It’s a rare thing to work with people who cross the boundary between work friends and real friends. I have been incredibly lucky.

Look at what five years of stuffing things into your desk drawer will yield:

The food was, of course, expected, though I was pleased to find a box of Rice Krispies I’d forgotten about. Until I realised they’d gone out of date in 2009. The special edition David Hasselhoff coaster (signed by the permatanned cheeseball himself) was perhaps the high point. I can’t really explain the peg. Or the coat-hanger, which wouldn’t fit in the photograph.

Mind you, I’ll be clearing out a cupboard for TJ next week, and I’ll be surprised if I don’t find a colony of The Borrowers living in there. I don’t think I’ve ever seen the back wall.

2 thoughts on “Happiness is…

  1. reverend61 says:

    I took that coaster home with me. It’s been in the office longer than most of the team. I think it’s time it saw the big world outside. Plus whenever my wife and I drink coffee at the study desk and stare down at the Hoff’s manly pecs we shall think of you, which was really not my intention but an interesting side effect nonetheless.

    Like

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

