Old and New

I miss my sis(ter). She’s been camping on the nursery floor for two days, lucky her.

It’s important to keep up with old-established traditions when spending time with family, I think. Our sisterly routines include eating incredibly cheap Chinese food (with chopsticks for the first five minutes, then switching to forks once the hand-cramp sets in)…

 …singing outrageously to O-Town (more difficult when you’re the driver, I discovered)…

…and taking silly photographs in museums (on this occasion, the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford).

I can relax in a very particular kind of way with siblings. I notice it more because I don’t see them much. They know an older, truer version of me that makes me put all my other selves away for a minute, and everything is familiar, and rooted, and safe.

Not everything is familiar these days, of course. Soon-to-be-Auntie Sarah can now add ‘hanging baby bunting’ and ‘offering opinions on tiny clothing’ to her extensive range of skills. She was very good at it. I expect her to instruct TJ on the noble art of Stupid Museum Photos as soon as opportunity arises.

One thought on “Old and New

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

