Cribs

Don’t look now, but I think Henry might actually be sleeping in his crib.

We haven’t really cracked the sleeping thing yet, which is a shame, because me + not much sleep = crazy-haired lady with personality disorder. Among other things, in the past few days I have eaten an entire packet of Jaffa Cakes in five minutes, woken up thinking that Henry had turned into a duvet and I’d squashed his little duck-feather head, cried for no reason (many times) and found an episode of Bang Goes the Theory genuinely funny (only once, thankfully). Henry sleeps, alright, but not anywhere that makes it convenient for me to sleep at the same time. He wants to be held, or he wants to be in our bed. You can put him down in the crib if you like, but you’d better believe he’ll be awake again and looking for food in ten minutes or less. And let that be a lesson to you for next time.

Part of the problem is me: after our little episode in hospital where I decided to run to the loo after a whole night of crossing my legs, only for Henry to choke himself spectacularly on mucus while I was gone, I’m completely paranoid about sleeping when he sleeps. Which is unfortunate, considering that ‘sleep when the baby sleeps’ was the advice I heard most often when pregnant. So I don’t mind him sleeping in our bed for now, despite being completely against it before he was born: at least this way I can wake up and check that he’s still breathing without having to get out of bed and poke him in the ribs.

Also, I get to look at this all night:

Which can’t be bad.

I will get him in that crib eventually (any advice? Please share. No, really. PLEASE). It’s pretty enough to stand in the corner of our room just as decoration, but frankly, I’m going insane with this paltry amount of shut-eye. And on a completely unrelated note, Tesco is running out of Jaffa Cakes.

4 thoughts on “Cribs

  1. I feel your sleep deprivation pain Rachel! I think this situation is very common amongst breast fed babies.They get fed in your bed and snuggled back to sleep and then they dont wanna be moved away. In my very own experience of doing this four times, what I did was not panic too much about baby being in our bed for the first couple of weeks.There will come a point in the next week or so when baby will have longer sleeps between feeds and your instinct will tell you its time to move him out. Henry can tell you are close right now by smell and I found it helpful to use a nighty that I had worn whilst feeding as the sheet on the crib so he can still smell you. We also moved the crib so it was right against the bed on mums side so its easy to check on him. Its also worth trying to make him feel as snuggly in his crib as he does in your bed. Hope this helps a bit. xxxxx

    Like

  2. I second the advice to move his sleeping place right next to your bed if you can — be that crib, Moses basket, whatever. It was so nice to just be able to roll over and check that they were still breathing. 🙂 I had one of those Arm’s Reach cosleepers that straps to the bed and LOVED it. When I was ready (3-4 months), we moved it across the room, and then out of the room, with no problems. They were much happier, though, when we finally moved them into cots because because they were more comfy.

    We followed the eat-play-sleep routine and it worked very well for us. The best book I found for teaching me understand my babies and meet their needs while not going crazy was the Baby Whisperer book. I would be happy to elaborate more, but I am hyper-aware of a mother’s need to find her own way and not be overwhelmed with well-meaning advice. The best advice I can give is to figure out what works best for YOUR family. I read a lot of books and took something from all of them and rejected something in all of them. I also loved this blog: http://www.babywisemom.com — have a look at the archives/index.

    You’ll figure it out. And then it will all change again. 🙂

    Like

  3. Heather Teuscher says:

    I ate an entire chocolate cake (after insisting to my friend there was no way I could finish it), a pound of Reese’s Pieces and more bacon sandwiches than any human should in the first few weeks of Hadley’s life. I also cried for no reason and made fairly incoherent comments that my sweet husband just pretended he understood – you are in good company! It does pass though!! You are doing awesome and your little guy is lucky to have you. I do hate the feeling of worrying if they are ok while you are trying to sleep, the worst is when they sleep longer and you are in such a panic something is wrong you are not sleeping!! I have no brilliant advice, just my sympathies! We did keep Hadley close in the bassinet so I could check often (after declaring I would put her in her room right when we got home…) so I understand wanting him nearby. We did love swaddling with Hadley, it kept her sleeping longer since she flailed and would wake herself up but who knows if it will work for our next one? The chaos of a newborn was such a shock to my system, but treating it with jaffa cakes sounds perfectly reasonable to me! May he keep sleeping longer and longer for you and Tesco restocks soon!

    Like

  4. Caitlin says:

    We went through this with both of ours, I remember with Ethan (our first), one night in that first week I was so exhausted that I fed him, then passed him to Richard to change him, and promptly fell asleep. Richard held him til he fell asleep then was so panicked about whether he should put him down or not, that he just stayed awake for 4 hours (2-6 I think), sat up, with Ethan asleep on him.
    It really will pass, and the tearful cake eating episodes get less! All that’s said above is good advice, the one thing I’d add is make sure his blankets are in your bed while he’s there so that they’re nice and warm, noone wants to get in a cold bed after a snuggly warm one!

    Like

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

