Please pray for me and my nerves of steel

I’m doing it. I’m doing it. Tonight, he’s sleeping in his own room. No need to look at me like that.

The baby monitor came a couple of days ago, and his room is warm enough, and there’s really no reason to put it off any longer. We had a monitor trial run this afternoon as we put him in his room for an afternoon nap. Sure enough, I could hear him screaming his little face off as though he were right there in front of me. Top quality, BT. Top quality.

In case you were wondering, the temperature gauge is a worrywart. It’s definitely not Too Warm in his room. (I’m surprised they didn’t go for the urgency of all-caps and an exclamation mark. Perhaps I would’ve listened if it were TOO WARM!)

We discovered, after extensive research, that the monitor plays various kinds of tinkly music, can be used as a walkie talkie and does a superlative Darth Vader impression. Between this and the song I’ve composed to the tune of The Imperial March (The Imperial Henry; performances on request), this baby will be turning to the dark side of the force any day now.

It’s also possible to sing along to the music from the other room, but on this evidence – sorry Timothy – that’s something that should never be done again. We’d like to apologise to Mr Pachelbel for any offence caused.

He’s a cracking sleeper (at night, at least), but we’ll see what an unfamiliar room, an earlier bedtime and a very angry would-be tooth will do to his winning streak. If anyone has opinions on controlled crying, speak now or forever hold your peace. (I say ‘controlled crying’ all confidently like I have the heart to listen to him for longer than thirty seconds. Denial ain’t just a river in Egypt.)

4 thoughts on “Please pray for me and my nerves of steel

  1. Good Luck! We had to move Ethan out into his own room at about 3 months as he got too massive for the crib and the cot didn’t fit in our room at the old house. He’ll almost certainly be fine, and even if he cries a bit, he’ll still be fine (hope you’re not currently battling the tears!). We did controlled crying with Ethan (thought not this little) and I couldn’t bare to leave him for longer than a few minutes max. Still it worked, so was worth it in the end.

    Like

  2. Alison Oliver says:

    He’ll be fine. We moved Maia when she was 5 months old. She was such a wriggler in bed but a good sleeper, we didn’t get much sleep ourselves!

    Like

  3. Melissa says:

    Is controlled crying the thing where you check in on them every so often? We did what I think is called “extinction” and left the room and never came back. SUCKED SUCKED SUCKED but WORKED WORKED WORKED. (Also: we had a video monitor, which was CRUCIAL to my sanity in the process). It never took more than two or three nights of crying (Sadly, it is not a one-time thing. We had to do it again whenever there’d been a disruption like being sick, going on vacation, or whatever), but sometimes I would listen to them cry for an hour the first night. I *HATED* it, and I had to do most of it alone because Ali was never there. But I have no regrets, and my two are great sleepers, and I get plenty of sleep, too! 🙂 I did it for going to sleep from about 2-3 months old, and in the middle of the night from 7-8 months.

    Here is a great resource for making it through:

    http://www.babywisemom.com/2009/12/cio-bootcamp-revised-and-updated.html

    I am happy to give you more of my insights on the subject if you are ever interested, but this is something each family has to find their own way on. I support and respect the choices of every mother when it comes to this whole sleep thing!

    Like

  4. Emma says:

    Wrote an exceedingly long & wise message, but then deleted it by accident.

    The 1 line summary?

    Don’t stress – sleep will work out, eventually.

    Like

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

