Short notes from the thick of it: 4

Sometimes he does this smile

self-conscious, tongue-in-cheek, head lowered

that I know he’ll be pulling at three

and five

and eleven.

It’s an expression older than his face.

There are versions of him I don’t yet know

But when he smiles like that, I’ll recognise him.

(This is not it. Imagine the face he might pull a half-second after this one.

Or, if you can get over my excruciating monkey noise and catastrophic bathroom, you could wait till the last two seconds of this…)

Monkey (8/10/12) from Rachel Jeffcoat on Vimeo.

2 thoughts on “Short notes from the thick of it: 4

    • Haha, thank you! I have what is formally known (in our house) as a mongrel English accent – half North, half South. I’m hoping to get Henry speaking like a Northerner before he goes to school šŸ™‚

      Like

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

