Cakery Bakery: the only pumpkin chocolate chip cookie you will ever need

SAM_0825

Yesterday night we skipped off to watch Ender’s Game at the cinema (which I loved). And so, in the spirit of dramatic sci-fi narration, let me say this:

there are some recipes that will CHANGE YOUR LIIIIIIFE.

And this is one of them.

Thanks to a lovely friend being wonderfully generous with the contents of her store cupboard, I now have more cans of pumpkin than I know what to do with – or I would, if I didn’t like pie so much. When I found this recipe claiming to be the best pumpkin chocolate chip cookie ever, I was ready to break into my stash and take that sucker down. (Sorry, that’s the sci-fi voice coming out again. Down, Harrison, down.)

The ingredients are almost all cupboard staples, with the exception of molasses (I use Lyons’ black treacle, Britishers) and canola oil (I use rapeseed oil, Britishers, though I’m pretty sure ordinary vegetable oil would work just fine). The method is a throw-it-all-in-and-mix type, which always makes me happy. It was all done in a jiffy, even with Henry trying to stick his face in the treacle.

SAM_0802

SAM_0813

Two notes about the mixing:

– put in the oil first, then use the same cup measure to put in the molasses. Black treacle is stickier than Satan’s armpit, but with a residual layer of oil in the bottom of the cup, it slides out into the bowl without a problem. And – this is very important –

– re. chocolate chips: go plain, or go home. And always, always put at least a third more in than you think you’ll need.

SAM_0807

The mixture is unpleasantly brown and clingy, but just wait till their ten minutes in the oven are up. These things puff out into glorious, golden mounds, cracked along the top like fault lines and studded with melted chocolate chips. If you don’t take care ladling out the dough, they can very easily be as large as your face. Crack one open and they are cakey and slightly chewy – like good gingerbread, almost, but without the ginger. Curiously, the pumpkin doesn’t come through very strongly, though they’re not at all tasteless. What they most remind me of are those German Christmas cookies: the same spices and the same texture. Magnificent, in other words. And the batch made thirty-five.

Store in a tin, and eat at your leisure. But even thirty-five of these babies won’t last long. I do not think there is a better cookie in the whole of space and time. And that’s not even Harrison Ford talking.

SAM_0818

SAM_0820

SAM_0823

The recipe for these cookies is courtesy of heynataliejean.com, and can be found here. Do it. DO IT NOW.

3 thoughts on “Cakery Bakery: the only pumpkin chocolate chip cookie you will ever need

  1. Just as a brief FYI: canola oil and rapeseed oil are actually the same thing; we just changed the name in the States because, y’know, rape. But still, the cookies look delicious! Save some for me!

    Like

  2. Kari says:

    I made these. I used treacle as a sub for molasses but used less of it as treacle is stronger than molasses. Beautiful. Really delicious. You weren’t kidding!

    Like

Talk to me! I'll put the kettle on.

